Lessons from a Naturopath: When homemade herbal medicine backfires!!

It comes as no surprise that with “burn-out” there can be sleep issues. For me, I can be utterly exhausted by the end of the day but when I try to close my eyes and sleep my brain is still full throttle. So being the little astute naturopath that I am, I decide I will make my own sleep/relaxation tincture (click here to find out what a tincture is). Here are the results:

After 15min of taking my tincture last night…

What went WRONG was the effects didn’t wear off! I spent today feeling like this…

Stoned. Thumb it up... look at my profile for more funny gifs and videos

Lesson I learned: Do not take a double dose of herbal extracts made from very powerful botanical sedatives & relaxants. Especially if I haven’t tested the potency of the medicine yet and have school/work the next day. It will create the effects of feeling “high” and dropping my I.Q.  by 30 points for at least 16-18hrs. Oops!!!

P.S. I’ll have the medicine making more mastered before you guys become my actual patients 🙂

 

One thought on “Lessons from a Naturopath: When homemade herbal medicine backfires!!

Leave a Reply

