First Male Genitalia and Prostate Exam

Today I completed my first male genitourinary exam. Prior to the exam, I felt nervous but just knew I’d leave the exam feeling like this…

image

RUDE AWAKENING! While I did a great job for my first exam, I actually felt more like this afterward…

 Animated Gif on Giphy

It was a mixed bag of emotions and confusion. The exam itself I think is awkward and weird in and of itself. I mean, there is just nothing glamorous or amazing about sticking your finger up a man’s butt!

In fact, this whole week challenged my personal boundaries. That’s another lesson we learn in med school: overcome your issues with personal space and physical touch. It’s NOT easy!! You understand what you’re doing and why, but it still  takes time to emotionally cope. Everyday is a working progress. Thank goodness for wine…and on that note…

 Animated Gif on Giphy

One thought on “First Male Genitalia and Prostate Exam

Leave a Reply

