When someone says “Ohh, you’re in nursing school,” after I stated I’m in med school

I have to bite my tongue to keep from saying this:

 Animated Gif on Giphy

Since when did saying you’re in “MEDICAL SCHOOL” = becoming a nurse?! If I was in nursing school then I would say, “I’m in nursing school.” Seriously, you’d be surprised how often this happens to me!

Don’t get me wrong, I think nurses are amazing and the medical field would be lost without them. Nurses are my biggest supporters and I appreciate all that they do!

However, I find it a bit offensive when I’m busting my ass through four years of intense grad school, paying six figures, and tortured on a daily basis all for dumb-asses to assume I’m only a nursing student.  Come on people, check your mouth before you wreck it!

Lesson of the day: Don’t make assumptions without all the right facts. Better yet, just don’t make assumptions. Period.

 

Leave a Reply

