My default response when friends ask me “how’s life treating you?”

This isn’t pessimism folks…it’s real life! I think we all can relate to having days where you just feel utterly defeated in your efforts. Some days can even seem futile. Whether people want to admit it or not, med school definitely consists of days like that (at least for me it is).

What motivates me to keep going? Ha! I guess ultimately I know failure is NOT an option. I also don’t try to fight my feelings when they hit. If I have to go cry and yell that sh*t out for a few minutes, then I do. I also find it helpful to exercise or either call a friend who I know won’t say cliche inspirational b.s. to me to make me feel better, but actually listen and let me vent.

We all have good and bad days…one isn’t necessarily better or worse than the other since both are important to cultivating who we are.

Leave a Reply

